Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Emily tutors in Minneapolis, MN

Emily H.

Private tutor in Minneapolis, MN

Education

BA: University of Wisconsin-Madison in Philosophy & European Studies (GPA 3.9) TESOL Certification: University of Wisconsin-Madison MA in ESL for Higher Education: University of Minnesota-Twin Cities (3.9 GPA)

Experience

I am currently an ESOL Instructor at Minneapolis Community and Technical College (MCTC). I have spent considerable time both as an instructor and a one-on-one tutor during the last five years. While completing my MA program in ESL, I also developed and ran a one-on-one tutoring service for ESL students at the University of Minnesota. I worked primarily with academic English writing, though worked with students on a wide variety of English language skills in pronunciation, listening, reading comprehension, and more. This was the university's first tutoring specialized for ESL students and has continued to successfully expand. After finishing my MA, I received the Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship and spent nine months teaching EFL at a southeastern Turkish university. I returned in the early summer of 2016, after which I happily accepted my current position at MCTC. My full language teaching background includes my own experiences as a language learner (Italian, Turkish), as well as various volunteer positions I have held in the Twin Cities and Madison communities. I am happy to discuss my areas of expertise and specialization with you, if you have any questions.

Availability

Weekends at any time, Weekdays after 4PM

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I love exploration, whether that be physically traveling to new places or mentally traversing new areas of thought. In my free time, I read The Economist and New Philosopher magazine, study Italian and Turkish, attend art exhibitions, and peruse museums. Besides my intellectual interests, I'm motivated by and always working towards a healthy and fit lifestyle, and try to incorporate movement and nutrition into all parts of my life.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!