Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Alex tutors in Minneapolis, MN

Alex M.

Private tutor in Minneapolis, MN

Education

B.A. in Mathematics, Bowdoin College - Graduated in 2016, cum laude - Mathematics major, physics minor - GPA 3.84 Ph.D. in Mathematics, University of Minnesota (2016-present) - Research focus in algebraic topology

Experience

I am currently a Ph.D. student at the University of Minnesota. My fellowship includes teaching duties, and I am currently teaching two sections of Calculus I. My responsibilities include giving lectures, creating and grading various assessments, and working with students one on one during my office hours to better facilitate their understanding of course content. Before I started at UMN, I attended Bowdoin College. At Bowdoin, I worked in the Quantitative Reasoning Program as a peer tutor. I have experience tutoring for Calculus I, Calculus II, Multivariable Calculus, and Linear Algebra. I also was a teaching assistant for more advanced math courses, such as abstract algebra, and would lead study groups and discussion sections for those classes. I also have experience working with younger students. I volunteered in classrooms throughout the Brunswick, Maine public school system when I was an undergraduate, working with 2nd grade students at the elementary school, and with 6th grade students at the middle school. I would describe myself as a very approachable and laid-back teacher, which I think makes it easier to connect and communicate with my students. At the same time, I'm always excited and motivated about the concepts at hand, and I try to keep an infectious upbeat attitude about learning. I've found that empathy is the most important trait to have as a tutor and a teacher. I work hard to step into my students shoes and understand how they are approaching problems, and what may be going wrong in their comprehension of the concepts. I try to identify not only what mistakes my students are making, but why they are making that mistake. I find that tackling the root of the misunderstanding is far more effective than just correcting mistakes for some given problem.

Availability

Weekdays after 5PM, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I like staying active! I played ultimate frisbee in college, and my team made it to Division 3 College Nationals my junior year. To stay in shape for frisbee, I enjoy running and going to the gym. I also love the outdoors, and find that nothing is more refreshing than a long hike on the weekends. I was a classical pianist in high school and earlier in college, although I have since stopped playing due to my schedule. I have retained a great love for music though, and I love going to a variety of concerts and musical events throughout the year. Though I have focused heavily on math, a lot of my friends are artists, which I found has given me a broader perspective. Asides from music, I have a great appreciation for studio art and dance. I also love cooking, and used to work in an upscale Italian restaurant in Portland, Maine.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!