Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Theodore tutors in Minneapolis, MN

Theodore R.

Private tutor in Minneapolis, MN

Education

I am a 2015 graduate of Vanderbilt University with a major in Mechanical Engineering and minors in Engineering Management and Chinese Language and Culture. I am currently a University of Minnesota Twin Cities PhD student in Human Factors and Ergonomics with a minor in Product Design. My research focus lies in creativity management in organizations and collaborative environments.

Experience

I have been tutoring since I was 13 because I love to help the younger generation excel academically. I believe it is extremely important to mold the younger generation so they have the necessary tools for success in higher education. I know have almost 10 years of tutoring experience including 4 years of collegiate level tutoring experience working students in elementary school, middle school, high school and colleges and universities. I also have a year of experience working as a study skills and organizational skills coach with J Hursey consulting. As for why I tutor the particular subjects I do, starting with Chinese, I took it for 6 years in middle school and high school before earning my minor in Chinese language and culture at Vanderbilt with a 3.8 Chinese GPA. As for the SAT and math I scored a 780 on my SAT math 2 subject test, then subsequently a 166/170 on the GRE Math when applying to graduate school. I also scored a 5 on my Calculus BC AP exam, thereby testing out of required mathematics and then I studied multivariable calculus, differential equations, linear algebra and advanced engineering mathematics at Vanderbilt. I took 2 years of AP physics in high school and scored a 5 on the mechanics AP. I then took college level physics and also the engineering physics classes of statics, dynamics, and system dynamics. Due to my engineering background and strength in physics, Chinese and math these are the main subjects I tutor at all levels in addition to organizational and study skills as well as public speaking and presentation skills.

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I grew up in a family of athletes and teachers, both of my grandparents on my fathers side were elementary school teachers their whole lives, and being one of the oldest of 22 grandchildren, I have been babysitting, mentoring and tutoring since I was 13 years old. I also started tutoring and babysitting other kids at that age. As for my hobbies outside of the academic world, I play and watch many sports, but especially football, basketball, track and field, soccer and bowling. I was a three sport athlete in high school and working out has always been a big part of my life. In fact, I am currently working on my personal training certification and my nutritionist certification. Outside of sports I am very into the arts, I have a few family members who are actors/broadway performers which got me interested in film and theatre at an early age. I love watching movies and plays. I am also very into poetry and spoken word which I do both independently at open mics and with a collegiate spoken word performance group. I really got into latin and african dance in college and i've participated in several cultural dance festivals as well. With product design as my graduate minor, I also spend a lot of time brainstorming new product, system and app ideas, drawing out my ideas. I also have been travelling, both internationally (China, Japan, South Africa, Canada, France, Mexico, Jamaica, and Haiti) and domestically, since a young age too so I love travelling and exploring with friends and family.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!